

2023 MEDA Annual Conference Business Meeting Minutes April 24, 2023 Chesapeake Bay Hyatt Regency

The MEDA Business Meeting was called to order by MEDA Board President Danny Thompson at 8:32am. Mr. Thompson thanked everyone for attending the meeting.

Minutes: Danny invited MEDA Secretary Tammi Thomas to present the minutes of the January 2023 business meeting for approval. Ms. Thomas presented the minutes and asked for approval from the members. There was a motion by Renée Winsky and second by Laurie Babb, CEcD, and the minutes were unanimously approved.

Treasurer's Report: Renée Winsky, Treasurer, presented the Treasurer's Report. She provided a brief overview of the MEDA financial statements and indicated that MEDA was in a good financial position.

Membership: Membership co-chairs Denise Beaver, CEcD and Ebony Stocks submitted the names of 76 new and returning members for consideration of membership in MEDA. With those new members, MEDA now has 539 members, an all-time high. Ms. Beaver asked for approval of the new members from the group. There was a motion by Renée Winsky and a second by Tammi Thomas and all nominations for membership were unanimously approved.

Mr. Thompson gave remarks as the outgoing President and recapped MEDA happenings during his tenure. He thanked each committee co-chair, the executive committee and the MEDA team for their efforts and support.

Election of Officers: MEDA Past President, Laurie Babb, CEcD, presented the 2023-2024 Slate of Officers as follows:

President: Richard Griffin, CEcD, Director, City of Frederick Department of Economic Development

Vice President: Tammi Thomas, Chief Development and Marketing Officer, TEDCO

Secretary: Kelly Robertson-Slagle, Director, Charles County Economic Development Department

Treasurer: Renée Winsky, President and Founder, Bay One Group, LLC

Past President: Daniel (Danny) Thompson, Executive Director, Somerset County Economic Development

Ms. Babb asked for a motion to approve the slate of Executive Officers as presented. A motion was made by Lori Valentine, seconded by Amy Seitz, and the Executive Officers were unanimously elected.

Ms. Babb then announced the remaining board members for the 2023-2024 term as follows: <u>Awards Co-Chairs</u>

Gordon Knox, Partner, Duane Morris LLP

Dawn Medley, President and Chief Executive Officer, FSC First

Business Development

Jerry Sanford, Managing Director Business and Economic Development Officer, The Harbor Bank of Maryland

John Stalfort, Principal, Miles & Stockbridge P.C.

Membership

Denise Beaver, CEcD, Deputy Director, Carroll County Department of Economic Development Ebony Stocks, Executive Vice President, Prince George's County Economic Development Corporation

Professional Development

Rosa Cruz, CEcD, Vice President of Communications, Anne Arundel County Economic Development Corporation

Trish Heidenreich, CEcD, President, Economic Development Initiatives Group

Program Development

Lara Fritts, CEcD, Executive Director, Frederick County Office of Economic & Workforce Development Lori Ratzburg, Senior Director, Regional Growth & Retention, Maryland Department of Commerce

Public Policy

Andrea Mansfield, Lobbyist, Manis Canning & Associates Lori Valentine, Vice President of Policy and Public Relations, Prince George's County Economic Development Corporation

Young Leaders

Allison Akers, Digital Marketing Manager, Vision Technologies Amy Velich, Central Bank Manager, John Hopkins University

Mr. Griffin, MEDA President, made welcoming comments and provided an overview of the conference. The business meeting was adjourned at 8:57 a.m.