

2024 MEDA Annual Conference Business Meeting Minutes April 22, 2024 Chesapeake Bay Hyatt Regency

The MEDA Business Meeting was called to order by MEDA Board President Richard Griffin, CEcD at 8:39 a.m. Mr. Griffin thanked everyone for attending the meeting.

Minutes: Mr. Griffin invited MEDA Secretary Kelly Robinson-Slagle to present the minutes of the January 2024 business meeting for approval. Ms. Robinson-Slagle presented the minutes and asked for approval from the members. There was a motion by Renée Winsky and second by Lori Valentine, and the minutes were unanimously approved.

Treasurer's Report: Renée Winsky, Treasurer, presented the Treasurer's Report. She provided a brief overview of the MEDA financial statements and indicated that MEDA was in a good financial position. There were no questions from the members.

Membership: Membership co-chairs Denise Beaver, CEcD and Ebony Stocks submitted the names of 50 new and returning members for consideration of membership in MEDA. With those new members, MEDA now has 532 members. Ms. Stocks asked for approval of the new members from the group. There was a motion by Denise Beaver and a second by Renée Winsky, and all nominations for membership were unanimously approved.

Election of Officers: Ms. Kimberly Clark, Past President, presented the 2024-2025 slate of Officers as follows:

President: Richard Griffin, CEcD, Director, City of Frederick Department of Economic Development Vice President: Tammi Thomas, Chief Development and Marketing Officer, TEDCO Secretary: Kelly Robertson-Slagle, Director, Charles County Economic Development Department Treasurer: Renée Winsky, President and Founder, Bay One Group, LLC Past President: Daniel (Danny) Thompson, Executive Director, Somerset County Economic Development

Ms. Clark asked for a motion to approve the slate of Executive Officers as presented. A motion was made by Lori Valentine, seconded by Amy Seitz, and the Executive Officers were unanimously elected.

Ms. Clark then announced the remaining board members for the 2024-2025 term as follows:

Awards Co-Chairs

Dawn Medley, President and Chief Executive Officer, FSC First Destiny Mitchell, Senior Program Officer, Economic Development, Local Initiatives Support Corporation

### **Business Development**

Jerry Sanford, Managing Director Business and Economic Development Officer, The Harbor Bank of Maryland John Stalfort, Dringingl Miles & Staelbridge D.C.

John Stalfort, Principal, Miles & Stockbridge P.C.

# Membership

Denise Beaver, CEcD, Deputy Director, Carroll County Department of Economic Development Ebony Stocks, Executive Vice President, Prince George's County Economic Development Corporation

# Professional Development

Trish Heidenreich, CEcD, President, Economic Development Initiatives Group Jamie Williams, CEcD, Director, Kent County Economic & Tourism Development

## Program Development

Lara Fritts, CEcD, Executive Director, Frederick County Office of Economic & Workforce Development Lori Ratzburg, Senior Director, Regional Growth & Retention, Maryland Department of Commerce

# Public Policy

Andrea Mansfield, Associate, Manis Canning & Associates Lori Valentine, Vice President of Policy and Public Relations, Prince George's County Economic Development Corporation

## Young Leaders

Allison Akers, Digital Marketing Manager, Vision Technologies Jennifer LaHatte, Managing Director of Policy, Research, and Government Affairs, Maryland Department of Commerce

Mr. Griffin thanked the executive committee and the committee co-chairs for their efforts throughout the year. He welcomed the new MEDA members and provided an overview of the conference. The business meeting was adjourned at 9:19am.